Being Laxmi: 'I belong to the hijra, the oldest transgender community'

  • The transgender rights activist and Hindi actor Laxmi Narayan Tripathi speaks about the challenges facing members of India’s hijra community, many of whom have been victimised or forced into begging or sex work. Subscribe to The Guardian ► http://is.gd/subscribeguardian Laxmi’s fame has provided a useful platform in the battle to achieve equality, dignity and inclusion for India’s third gender. She is the founder of the sexual minorities rights organisation Astitva, and in 2008 became the first transgender person to represent Asia-Pacific at the UN. Guardian website ► http://is.gd/guardianhome Endboard videos: London's oldest gay bar under threat ► http://bit.ly/VauxhallTav Being transgender and happy ► http://bit.ly/TransAndHappy Guardian playlists: Comment is Free ► http://is.gd/cifplaylist Guardian Docs ► http://is.gd/guardiandocs Guardian Animations & Explanations ►http://is.gd/explainers Guardian Investigations ► http://is.gd/guardianinvestigations Other Guardian channels on YouTube: Guardian Football ► http://is.gd/guardianfootball Guardian Music ► http://is.gd/guardianYTmusic Guardian Australia ► http://is.gd/guardianaustralia Guardian Tech ► http://is.gd/guardiantech Guardian Culture ► http://is.gd/guardianculture Guardian Wires ► http://is.gd/guardianwires Guardian Food ► http://is.gd/guardianfood Watch Me Date ► http://is.gd/watchmedate More Guardian videos: Mos Def force fed in Gitmo procedure ► http://is.gd/mosdef Edward Snowden interview ► http://is.gd/snowdeninterview2014 Bangladeshi Sex Workers take steroids ► http://is.gd/sexworkers How your phone spies on you ► http://is.gd/phonespying What is freedom today? ► http://is.gd/zizekcif 30 Stone man enters Mr Gay UK ► http://is.gd/stavros Fighting Isis in Kobani ► http://is.gd/fightingisis How does Ebola kill? ► http://is.gd/ebolakills The SlumGods of Mumbai ► http://is.gd/slumgods Jesus "would have been an atheist" ► http://is.gd/dawkinsjesus The new global menace ► http://is.gd/owenjonescif
loading...